Seed Starting 2017

Seed Starting 2017

 

As per usual I’ve already begun my planning for this year’s garden! I have several pepper seeds going at the moment, and today they finally sprouted itty bitty roots. Taking some advice from a fellow blogger, I start all my seeds on the north-facing window of my closet, which is slightly cooler than room temp (around 21 degrees celsius or ~69 degrees fahrenheit). I don’t presprout the seeds, but the Thai chili sprouts pretty quickly and the Romanian Rainbow usually follows closely after. I’m trying Tam Jalapeños and some organic red bell pepper seeds I harvested from a starting-to-go-off pepper we bought a while back. I tend to sprinkle cinnamon powder over my peat pots to keep down mold and help the plants root faster, and it hasn’t failed me yet.

I usually begin these in February so they have ample time to really strengthen their roots and also survive our short season long enough to get some peppers. Until I get some true leaves they stay in these little pods. I have a large flat of pods set up, as March is when I begin seeding in earnest. I got my hands on a bag of pinto beans, so those are being paired with Aztec Black corn and a combination of butternut squash and Jack o’ Lantern pumpkins for our Three Sisters plot this year. The peppers will be put out in the main plot with some cucumber seedlings, three types of tomato, two kinds of onions, two kinds of cabbage, a carrot mix, and more.

I’m also doing a medicinal herb garden this year which will have a mixture of marigold, St. John’s Wort, borage, and comfrey seeds direct-sewn into some large pots on our terrace. This will match my herb planters which will be filled with both white and kitchen sage, rosemary, thyme, tarragon, mint, cinnamon basil, and sweet woodruff.

Spring is a very busy time, but I think it’s so rewarding to see the garden in bloom and to eat fresh vegetables from my own garden. I have a really good feeling about this year, and I hope to continue this journey every year after.

Follow us here on WordPress or on Facebook for more food and homesteading goodness! Check out the soap company at hippiestink.com!

Leave a Reply

